International Structure

Prince Grand Master Magistral Council
Executive Council
Lieutenant Grand Master College of Nobles
Grand Chancellor International Chancery
Grand Ceremonist Guard of Honour
Grand Hospitaller Posts and Mint Commission
Grand Herald Heraldic Council
Grand Bailiff Council of Honour
Grand Dame College of Dames
Minister for Foreign Affairs Diplomatic Corps
Grand Prelate Ecclesiastical College



The Supreme Organ of OBSS is the Magistral Council, presided by the Prince Grand Master. The Vicar Grand Master is the Vice President.

The Members of the Magistral Council, who as Dignitaries of the Order are addressed as Excellency, are chosen from among the Knights Grand Cross of Obedience and Devotion.

The Magistral Council meets in the Magistral Seat of OBSS at least once a year, when convened by the Prince Grand Master, to review the moral, social and financial state of OBSS and to review the international development programme.


The Administrative Organ of OBSS is the Executive Council, presided by the Prince Grand Master. The Vicar Grand Master is the Vice President.

The Executive Council meets at least quarterly, when convened by the Prince Grand Master:

  • to collaborate in the administration of the patrimony of OBSS and in the dispatch of current administrative affairs.
  • to establish the Passage Fees and Annual fee which the various Grand Priories and National Associations remit to the Grand Magisterium.



College of Nobles

College of Nobles

The College of Nobles of OBSS is administered by a Council, presided over by the Lieutenant Grand Master and composed of four Professed Knights.

Knights and Dames of Justice are enrolled in the College of Nobles with all the honours, rights and privileges pertaining to their Category.


The International Chancery falls under the jurisdiction of the Grand Chancellor, who is the Custodian of the Seal and of the historic archives of OBSS. He is responsible for convening meetings of the Magistral Council and of the Executive Council and keeps a written record of proceedings. He examines all applications from Aspirants before referring them to the Prince Grand Master for the Placet.


The Guard of Honour is composed of Knights who have served in the Armed Forces and falls under the jurisdiction of the Grand Ceremonist.

The Guard of Honour shall accompany and protect the Prince Grand Master during Ceremonies and Official Functions.


The Magistral Posts and Mint of OBSS are administered by the Posts and Mint Commission, presided over by the Grand Hospitaller.

The Magistral Posts are responsible for the printing and distribution of postage stamps, essentially of a philatelic and commemorative nature.

The Mint is responsible for issuing:

  • OBSS Coins, having essentially a numismatic value;
  • Commemorative Medals, to celebrate events of singular importance.
  • Medals of Merit, to reward both those who have distinguished themselves by special and exceptional services to the Order, as well as those who have achieved particular merit in Letters, Arts, Sciences, Industry, Commerce and Labour.


The Heraldic Council examines proposals of Candidates who have been singled out for exceptional merit and qualities, recommending to the Prince Grand Master their elevation to the Nobility with the conferment of a Title of Nobility, ad personam or in hereditary form.

The hereditary Prince Grand Master, as sole holder of the fons honorum, confers the following Titles of Nobility: Hereditary Knight, Baron, Viscount, Count, Marquis.

The Heraldic Council shall adjudicate on the validity of Titles of Nobility not conferred by OBSS.


The Council of Honour investigates charges of breach of discipline by Members of OBSS.   Each accused has the right to be heard in his defence.


The College of Dames of OBSS is administered by a Council, presided over by the Grand Dame and composed of six Dames Grand Cross. The Council examines proposals for socio-cultural activities to be held in the various Regions, according to territorial needs. Dames of Justice and of Magistral Grace of OBSS are de jure Members of the College of Dames.


The Diplomatic Corps of OBSS operates under the jurisdiction of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, providing active and passive representation for OBSS.

The Diplomatic Corps is composed of Ambassadors, Envoys and Consuls who may be accredited to those States with which OBSS maintains diplomatic relations.

OBSS may issue Diplomatic Passports to its Dignitaries and Members of the Diplomatic Corps, in accordance with the Rules of International Diplomacy


The Ecclesiastical College of OBSS is administered by a Council, presided over by the Grand Prelate and composed of all National Prelates.  All Prelates and Chaplains of OBSS, who are de jure Members of the Ecclesiastical College, dedicate themselves to the spiritual needs of the Members and promote the unification of all religions in an ecumenical spirit.

Comments are closed.